Department of Physics, University of Oxford Homepage

















University of Oxford, Department of Physics

Semiconductors Group


Group Leader

Laura Herz

Laura Herz

Professor of Physics

Email: laura.herz@physics.ox.ac.uk

Short CV

 

Current Members

Timothy Crothers Mr Timothy Crothers

DPhil Student
Email: timothy.crothers@seh.ox.ac.uk

Charge-carrier dynamics in hybrid metal halide perovskites for photovoltaics

Djamshid Damry Mr Djamshid Damry

DPhil Student
Email: djamshid02@gmail.com

Polymer Photonic Structures for Control of Terahertz Light
(joint project with Prof Michael Johnston in association with the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Plastic Electronics)

Hannah Eggimann Ms Hannah Eggimann

DPhil Student
Email: Hannah.Eggimann@physics.ox.ac.uk

Photonic properties of organic molecular semiconductors

Juliane Gong Ms Juliane Gong

DPhil Student
Email: Juliane.Gong@physics.ox.ac.uk

Photophysics of Molecular Nanorings
(joint project with Prof Harry Anderson)

Alex Knight Mr Alex Knight

DPhil Student
Email: alexander.knight@physics.ox.ac.uk

Charge-carrier dynamics in hybrid halide perovskite materials for next-generation solar cells
(project in association with the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in New and Sustainable Photovoltaics)

Qianqian Lin Dr Qianqian Lin

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Email: qianqian.lin@physics.ox.ac.uk

Laura
  Martinez Maestro Dr Laura Martinez Maestro

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Email: laura.martinezmaestro@physics.ox.ac.uk

Rebecca Milot Dr Rebecca Milot

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Email: rebecca.milot@physics.ox.ac.uk

Elizabeth Parrott Ms Elizabeth Parrott

DPhil Student
Email: elizabeth.parrott@physics.ox.ac.uk

Photophysics of organometal halide perovskite materials for next-generation solar cells
(joint project with Prof Henry Snaith in association with the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in New and Sustainable Photovoltaics)

Jay Patel Mr Jay Patel

DPhil Student
Email: jay.patel@physics.ox.ac.uk

Optimizing design, morphology and stability of molecular semiconductors for next-generation photovoltaics
(Case Studentship Project with Merck Chemicals)

Waqaas Rehman Mr Waqaas Rehman

DPhil Student
Email: Waqaas.Rehman@physics.ox.ac.uk

Charge generation dynamics in novel materials for solar cells

Kimberley Savill Ms Kimberley Savill

DPhil Student
Email: kimberley.savill@physics.ox.ac.uk

Charge-carrier dynamics in hybrid halide perovskite materials for next-generation solar cells

Adam Wright Mr Adam Wright

DPhil Student
Email: adam.wright@physics.ox.ac.uk

Photon-to-charge conversion routes in novel hybrid solar cells
(joint project with Prof Michael Johnston in association with the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Plastic Electronics)

 

Past Graduates

Chris Menelaou Dr Chris Menelaou

DPhil 2015

Influence of molecular design on the dynamic processes in organic semiconductor photovoltaics
(Case Studentship Project with Merck Chemicals)

Christian Wehrenfennig Dr Christian Wehrenfennig

DPhil 2014

Ultrafast Spectroscopy of Charge Separation, Transport and Recombination Processes in Functional Materials for Thin-Film Photovoltaics

Christian Weisspfennig Dr Christian Weisspfennig

DPhil 2014

Investigation of Charge-Transfer Dynamics in Organic Materials for Solar Cells

Wei-Hsin Chen Mr Wei-Hsin (Wilson) Chen

MSci 2013

Energy transfer in biomimetic and biosensing molecular materials

Chaw Keong Yong Dr Chaw Keong Yong

DPhil 2013

Ultrafast spectroscopy of inorganic/organic semiconductor hybrid nanostructures

Priti Tiwana Dr Priti Tiwana

DPhil 2013

Ultrafast charge dynamics in mesoporous materials used in dye-sensitized solar cells

Amy Stephens Dr Amy Stevens

DPhil 2012

Energy and charge transfer processes in bio-mimetic light-harvesting systems

Suzannah Merchant Dr Suzannah Merchant

DPhil 2010

Terahertz Time-Domain Spectroscopy of Semiconductors
(joint project with Dr Michael Johnston)

Stephan Schmid Dr Stephan Schmid

DPhil 2009

Energy transfer processes in organic semiconductors

Patrick Parkinson Dr Patrick Parkinson

DPhil 2008

Ultrafast electronic processes at nanoscale organic-inorganic semiconductor interfaces

Currently a Lecturer and Group Leader at the University of Manchester

Ming-Hua Chang Dr Ming-Hua Chang

DPhil 2008

Organic semiconductor nanostructures based on supramolecular self-assembly